Monday Musings: Homecoming 2011

It’s difficult to believe that one year ago I was packing up my office and getting ready for my final Sunday at First United Methodist in Royal Oak. As you might imagine, many things were swirling around in my head. Was I making the right move? Will the music-making be as rewarding someplace else? Can I make this all work?!?

Cut to Sept 18, 2011. As the introduction started, and I looked at all the faces of those I’m honored to lead, it was the right decision. Was the road easy? Not at all. Was it as hard as I thought it might be? Yes and no. Being apart from Vance was one of the most trying times in my life. But now that life is back in a routine, I know everything is good again. And I have you all to thank for that. Your hard work and positive attitudes are what make this ministry flourish. BRAVO!

So on to more music talk. I’m going to (as best as I can!) do weekly updates on Monday morning to reflect on our Sunday musical presentations. Along the way, I’ll also share some tidbits of greatness that are found on the interwebs 🙂

One of those tidbits that I found through a friend is from the great soprano, Renee Fleming. This video gets to the core of what we do as singers. Take a listen and see how she talks about consonants and the feeling of “line” in music. Sound familiar??

http://www.youtube.com/user/asdfopera#p/u/12/qQ_jwdqE2M0

Take time during the week to watch this video a few times. We will talk about this a bit on Thursday evening at rehearsal and see how we can improve our clothesline of sound!

Have a great week!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday Musings: Homecoming 2011

  1. Nancy McConnell says:

    Hi Craig,

    I read and enjoyed your Blog….is that the right word? I plan to watch R. Fleming too. I brought music home for this Sunday (IGot Shoes and The Road Home). Do we still have the learning files or do I need to watch UTube?

    Nancy McC

Leave a Reply

